F800RT Why not? - BMW S1000RR Riders Forum & Registry

Remove this advertisement by REGISTERING.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

07-17-14
    Motorcycle
    '77 XLCR
    Motorcycle
    '08 Bonneville
    Motorcycle
    '10 F650GS (Twin)
    We need a F800RT
    I've been riding BMW RTs for over 25 years. The R1200RT is a wonderful bike, likely the best touring bike in the world, but it has gotten to big for me. I rode a F800ST a couple of weeks ago for the first time. It's lightness reminded me of my first R100RT. The power is just fine. The handleing is outstanding. However F800 has been targeted more toward the sport ergonomics. For a F800RT the following are my hopes:
    - raise the handle bars
    - flaten the sear to be more parrallet to the ground, while keeping the sear hieght the same, Think of a modern version or a R100RT seat.
    - keep the fuel tank under the seat. a great idea to keep C of G low. maybe make it 1 G bigger
    - repostion the foot pegs, lower, a bit more forward so the rider is not quite so folded up.
    - The lowered ST version is preferable to me.
    - Improve the fairing. Higher and wider adjustable windshield. Manual adjustment is fine to keep costs/weight lower.
    - wider fairing around the bar and mid area, designed to address rain as well as wind. (R1100 fairing did this really well). Use you wind tunnel to get it right and as small as possible,
    - tweek the lower fairing to help keep feet and legs drier while not trapping heat ( maybe an adjustable vent).
    - keep the weight low. The current ST weight in right on target.
    - make sure there is assory power for heated clothing and another to power electonics.
    - make the hard bag bigger and lower and total bike width narrower. The bage should hold a full face helmet. lower bags keep the CG lower than current ST. This will mean lowering the exhaust pipe...again think early RTs for accomplishing this.